Originally posted by gen
Crackstarter
5 November 2013 Last updated at 12:41 ET Why is Toronto Mayor Rob Ford still popular?
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-24824648
He had denied taking crack cocaine and even claimed the video did not exist.
But after Toronto police announced last week that it was in their possession, Mr Ford's approval rating actually climbed five points to a healthy 44%.
Which begs the question, how does he do it?
I got to ask...Relative to when he entered office and the amount of tax unno pay .....
Has ford made the public transport system worse ?
Has he increased the amount of recycling ?
Done anything to improve the garbage collection ?
Has the education attainment remained constant ?
Basically has the quality of life improved since he has been in office ?
if it has lef deh man if im pay fi im own crack!
I think I am going to start Keep Ford in Office campaign!
come on guys... there is no other one since Bellasconi !!!! No more Chavez.... the world needs Ford .....
The man makes Sister P look good!.... And Prince Andrew princely....
o ffs wallie. this guy is a walking disaster.Originally posted by Wahalla View PostI got to ask...Relative to when he entered office and the amount of tax unno pay .....
Has ford made the public transport system worse ?
Has he increased the amount of recycling ?
Done anything to improve the garbage collection ?
Has the education attainment remained constant ?
Basically has the quality of life improved since he has been in office ?
if it has lef deh man if im pay fi im own crack!
I think I am going to start Keep Ford in Office campaign!
come on guys... there is no other one since Bellasconi !!!! No more Chavez.... the world needs Ford .....
The man makes Sister P look good!.... And Prince Andrew princely....
he cancelled an unpopular $60 surcharge for when you renew your driver sticker. he privatised garbage collection for one part of the city. that's all i can remember right now that he's done that go on the positive side of the ledger.
on the other hand - he cancelled a transit plan that had already been approved and funding, incurring millions of dollars in kill fees. he cancelled it cuz the plan was not based on subways, and he wants subways because he wants to "end the war on cars". except, his blithe assurances that private investors will hop on board a subway plan has not panned out, and now Toronto, a year and a half away from the PanAm Games, has an inadequate and still undecided transit plan.
In between he has neglected his mayoral duties to coach a high school basketball team that in the end the school asked him not to come back because he was disparaging the students (a high number of them black). in the media he would defend himself by saying without him a lot of the kids wouldnt get anywhere. and under the influence of crack, he curses them as *f---ing minorities*
he wanders around in public drunk, gropes women, reads while he's driving cause "he's a busy man", curses reporters he doesnt like, and uses a weekly radio show he has with his brother to bully and berate his fellow city councillors and anyone else they feel has done them wrong.
he's a joke, and was a joke before he became mayor. he's a liar, will lie repeatedly and repeatedly until the evidence comes before him, then all of a sudden he remembers what happened - he pulled that trick not only in the case of the crack smoking, but during the election campaign when someone said he had been arrested for a dui in Florida - it was only when they pulled up the mug shot that he admitted it
his biggest sin in my view is stupidity but unfortunately, i don't think he can do anything about that. and this is the guy we have as mayor.
"i have smoked crack, probably while in a drunken stupor"
the confession. note the socratic method employed at 00:20.
you know, i think there's a literary or dramatic equivalent to the story of these two brothers, Rob and Doug. i just can't identify it right now. it's a subtext to the sh*tshow that is Robbie, that Dougie is the true political princeling in this family, and that his association with his Mayor Brother was supposed to springboard him (Doug) to the political heights and further set by their late father, a provincial politician. But boy o boy, has Dougie's fortunes been suffering cuz of baby brother's shenanigans.
Originally posted by mountaingal View Poston the other hand - he cancelled a transit plan that had already been approved and funding, incurring millions of dollars in kill fees. he cancelled it cuz the plan was not based on subways, and he wants subways because he wants to "end the war on cars". except, his blithe assurances that private investors will hop on board a subway plan has not panned out, and now Toronto, a year and a half away from the PanAm Games, has an inadequate and still undecided transit plan.
Found the following online. *note: I believe where it says 'LRV' it means 'LRT'.
What is the difference between streetcar, LRT and subway?
• LRT vehicles are smaller and slower than subways, but travel faster and carry more passengers than streetcars or buses.
• Subways are larger and longer – a subway train can hold up to 1500 passengers (in ‘crush’ conditions). An LRV can hold 255 people in each vehicle, and it can be linked into a train of two or more cars. Streetcars carry between 75 and 100 people per vehicle.
• Like a subway, LRT vehicles can be boarded through all doors at ground level, making them wheelchair accessible and reducing loading time.
• Subways get their power from an electrified rail below the train – this requires larger stations, more infrastructure and safety separation. An LRV gets its power from a cable over head, like a streetcar.
• LRT can run aboveground at street level, like streetcars, however they operate in separate lanes, meaning they are not affected by car and truck traffic.
• LRT can also run underground, like subways, as is planned for much of the Eglinton Crosstown LRT.
• LRT stops are planned to be about 500 metres apart, slightly farther than streetcar stops (about 250 metres apart), but closer than subway stops.
• Older streetcars, like the ones we see in Toronto today, are smaller than LRVs, and require “loops” to turn around. LRVs are larger, and are “double ended” like subways, so they can change direction quickly without loops.
What is Light Rail Transit (LRT)?
• Light Rail Transit (LRT) is made up of modern, electricity-powered Light Rail Vehicles (LRV) that carry passengers in dedicated lanes, separated from motor vehicle traffic.
• LRT is growing in popularity for major cities around the world as it provides significant transit capacity without the expense of and density needed for subway systems.
• Like a subway, LRVs can be boarded at all doors, sometimes travel underground, carry large numbers of passengers and operate at high speeds.
• Like streetcars, LRVs can operate at street level, have more frequent stops and cost much less to build and maintain than subways.
• LRVs have no local emissions, since they are powered by electricity, and can be run on renewable energy like wind and solar.
• Modern LRT vehicles are fully accessible for wheel-chairs, strollers, and shopping carts, as well as faster boarding through multiple doors.
• Modern LRT vehicles carry more than twice as many passengers as buses and can be paired together into “trains” to increase capacity.