Re: AUGUST MOUT RUNNIN
Mawnin Holics!!
Man was I beat coming home last night. My SIL & I walked in the water for about a half mile & back. Easy on the joints, great resistance for the muscles! I could do that every day, tho I'm feeling it today!!
We had my nephew with us, he's 16 and they have a pool. So he doesn't get to the ocean much. I think he may be hooked.
Anyway, we observed the "beach contractors" up & down the sand to see how people set up for their day at the beach. The beach is a barrier beach between the ocean and harbor. So you need a permit from the town & either 4 wheel or all wheel drive (or 2 feet and a lot of ambition) to get out there. Once there, there are no services or facilities.
In order to spend a comfortable day, from morning til night, people set up with canopies & chairs & usually the back of whatever vehicle they drove out there.
To use laurel's term... a likkle "staycation" a few miles from home.
So this summer we have a couple of umbrellas, several beach chairs, a folding banquet table and a small charcoal grill. And of course, multiple coolers.
Most people are so organized they are ready to go at a moments notice with minimal effort. That's the plan for us for next year. Next purchase will be a portable canopy, the kind that fold and fit into their own travel case.
After that a pop up cabana, something like this...

For changing & rinsing off the salt.
A jumbo rubbermaid container to hold all the other minor paraphenelia and we're good to go.
Mawnin Holics!!

Man was I beat coming home last night. My SIL & I walked in the water for about a half mile & back. Easy on the joints, great resistance for the muscles! I could do that every day, tho I'm feeling it today!!
We had my nephew with us, he's 16 and they have a pool. So he doesn't get to the ocean much. I think he may be hooked.
Anyway, we observed the "beach contractors" up & down the sand to see how people set up for their day at the beach. The beach is a barrier beach between the ocean and harbor. So you need a permit from the town & either 4 wheel or all wheel drive (or 2 feet and a lot of ambition) to get out there. Once there, there are no services or facilities.
In order to spend a comfortable day, from morning til night, people set up with canopies & chairs & usually the back of whatever vehicle they drove out there.
To use laurel's term... a likkle "staycation" a few miles from home.
So this summer we have a couple of umbrellas, several beach chairs, a folding banquet table and a small charcoal grill. And of course, multiple coolers.

Most people are so organized they are ready to go at a moments notice with minimal effort. That's the plan for us for next year. Next purchase will be a portable canopy, the kind that fold and fit into their own travel case.
After that a pop up cabana, something like this...

For changing & rinsing off the salt.
A jumbo rubbermaid container to hold all the other minor paraphenelia and we're good to go.

I have yet to set foot on a beach except the one at the lake this year. Yeah Minnesota, land of 10,000 lakes and the longest freshwater sandbar in the world and just as many lakes if not more on my side of the border... I drive by them all the time and gaze...always in a rush, always someplace I need to go or something needing doing. Not having a summer as far as the weather goes isn't helping the cause either!

at the end of the evening my oldest son calls me inside and in front of everyone told me i was gonna be a grandma again! his 1st child! He knew I'd be a blubbering fool
How fun for you! Grammas get to have all the fun and pass them off for the work part!