<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Well thegovernment proviodesn him personal securoty of 2 police officers complete with vehicle 24 hours per day when he is in the Island. </div></div> is that in fact the case?
where where these officers when he had his accident? were they following him?
deterrent? dem wudda tief dat to! </div></div>
LOL yuh mek mi spit out mi carrot juice ennoh
How come Bolt nuh have nuh secuirty a watch over him house. Next ting dem kidnapp a family member and demand ransome... fi real he needs to sort himself out proper. Who's his manager again? </div></div>
tru....but what him really should do is to pay off di local don and keep him in his back pocket so him can hole off him man dem.. </div></div>
so all uptown have don too? ..what a way dem progressive
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: neutral</div><div class="ubbcode-body">To be honest,I dont think the government is under any obligation to provide security for any celebrity,regardless of which field they excel in.
This kind of thing is not unique to jamaica,
Here in the Uk it`s common practice for footballer`s houses to be robbed,especially when they`re playing in a big match abroad.
It`s up to people like bolt and others to provide their own security for their property when they are away from home,.....come on people he is an icon but let`s get things into perspective. </div></div>
Finally a voice of reason .why is this such a big deal .Bolt make enough money to provide security for him self and his property .In the usa most if not all so called celebrity have private security .
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ceabee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">no in fact is the first me hearing that </div></div>
uptown dem nuh go by di title of dons....dem name politicians
To be honest,I dont think the government is under any obligation to provide security for any celebrity,regardless of which field they excel in.
Here in the Uk it`s common practice for footballer`s houses to be robbed,especially when they`re playing in a big match abroad.
It`s up to people like bolt and others to provide their own security for their property when they are away from home,.....come on people he is an icon but let`s get things into perspective. </div></div> I agree
Generally but in Jamaica the Government is doing a very poor job of securing all but its own personnel.
I think if more celebrities such a Bolt and Company would seize the intuitive and speak out against the lack of proper policing and an enabling environment for personal growth then security cost would be lower for everyone.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CestMoi</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ceabee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">no in fact is the first me hearing that </div></div>
uptown dem nuh go by di title of dons....dem name politicians </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">it's no surprise jamaica is in this state; guys like you see nothing wrong when we consistently destroy our own </div></div>..another idiotic argument. Of course I see nothing wrong, how can I, idiots like you are standing in my way. What actions have you taken? </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: neutral</div><div class="ubbcode-body">To be honest,I dont think the government is under any obligation to provide security for any celebrity,regardless of which field they excel in.
It`s up to people like bolt and others to provide their own security for their property when they are away from home,.....come on people he is an icon but let`s get things into perspective. </div></div>
Fair enough I only expressed mho. I take your point but Jamaica cannot be compared to the UK or america. Though bolt is a celebrity he wears the Jamaican colours on all his gear. He doesn't belong to any clubs or other private organisation. The UK celebrity footballers live in posh areas and so more easier to rob since most of their neighbors are probably abroad too and their houses are secluded in miles of trees and private roads away from prying eyes.
Bolts name is synonymous with Jamaica and he is seen as a Jamaican icon. Footballers are not seen in the same way except when they play international games to represent their country.
In any case he definitely needs to sort out proper security for himself and his immediate family there is no question about that. It is not a bad thing for the community he lives in; no doubt shouts his name when he is victorious and grin wide around him with pictures and autographs not keep a neighborhood watch eye on his house whilst he's abroad making Jamaica look good.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Shameless scoundrels yesterday broke into the Lady Musgrave Avenue, St Andrew house of triple Olympic record holder Usain Bolt, making off with electronics valued at more than $100,000.
Speaking with THE STAR yesterday, Deputy Superintendent Michael Phipps of the St Andrew Central police said that the Olympic champion's brother, Sadeke Bolt, who lives at the premises as well, made a burglary report to the station after the incident.
laptop valued $90,000
Reports are that the criminals broke into the house between 12 a.m. and 4.am. yesterday and stole digital cameras, cellphones and a laptop said to be valued at some $90,000.
The police said that scene-of-crime personnel have since examined the premises and investigations into the theft are already under way.
Attempts to contact the sprinter's brother were unsuccessful.
Some hours after the break-in the triple Olympic record holder outclassed several athletes in Ostrava, Czech Republic, with a 9.77 run in the 100-metre race.
Yesterday's dash was the sprinter's first sub-10 clocking at an international meet this season. In Canada last week, the wonder boy ran a 10 seconds flat 100-metre race and earlier, in May, clocked a 14.35 second record on 150-metre street track in Manchester, England. Bolt's street sprint in Manchester blasted Donovan Bailey's 12-year-old record of 14.99 out of the books
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Panajar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Finally a voice of reason .why is this such a big deal .Bolt make enough money to provide security for him self and his property .In the usa most if not all so called celebrity have private security.</div></div>
It is a little more than that you can only rely on private security so far. Bolt cannot be truly secure if all of Jamaica is not secure, no matter how famous and how muck money he has.
The Government of Jamaica must do what Governments are elected to do:
provide and enabling environment for personal growth and development
provide security for the citizens of Jamaica.
It is not a great stretch to imagine that since the security industry is one of the fastest growing sector of the economy, does not pay well and is charged with protecting valuable properties in a worsening situation, it might have already been compromise and some guards are just sleeper agents for criminal gangs looking to eat a food.
Hiring private security might just be the ticket to getting jacked.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: sagal</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Jamaica is in a sad state of affairs
Shouldn't the government protect their statesmen??? This should of never have happened. </div></div>
Some disagree. Jamaica is a small island and to be so famous in an enclosed island I feel is a special case. Jamaican robbers kill people when they rob. I wouldn't be surprise if Bolt ends up living abroad in america for his own safety and his families because the government left him to his own devises. Bolt deserves better security than what many corrupt politicians and dons enjoy in Jamaica.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i likk out gainst ****** like you </div></div>So that is your raison d'être...well enjoy your mission
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.