<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Dahjah, before you gwan wid your come answer my question. Just how easy did <span style="font-size: 20pt"><span style="font-weight: bold">YOU</span></span> have it starting school in Canada and speaking only patois...and don't lie about it either as you and I have discussed this off-offline. Why would you wish these types of difficulties on other kids when you yourself did not ahve it easy. </div></div>
Prolly just as hard as any one migrating to a different country who spoke a different language.. or even if they spoke the language the accent was different.. </div></div>
I am waiting for him to come and confirm this. </div></div>
I did not have a hard time in class wid mi lesson dem. I just had a hawd time wid ppl ovastanding me.
I think we need fi stap dis talk bout patois is a dialect and not a language. As long as ppl need interpretation it is a language. By buying into the system and having ppl tell wi it is not a language we are letting ppl dictate to us who and what we are. Patois is a language we should be proud of and embrace and you should teach your son as well.
Is time we define ourself and stop letting others define who we are..
I agree wid queenb Yes I do and she have a right fi seh wah shi seh as dere is nuttin wrang wid wah shi seh.
As fi skkkoolin it is good to be bilingual in patois and english an mi nah judge a man becah him neh feel fi conduct himself inna an outerview in a manner not pleasing tuh de prehistoric christian base
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: queenb</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
<ul style="list-style-type: disc">[*]Sidney Poitier is AMERICAN, born in Miami of Bahamian parents.[*]Why shouldn't patois be considered a language since this is the language of choice of Jamaicans in Jamaica and abroad? English as the official language is Jamaica clinging to the British and their history of subjugating the people of Jamaica and the other British islands.[*]If most Jamaicans are more comfortable speaking patois, why shouldn't patois be adopted as the native language of the island, with English the language of maybe business or that of a second language?[/list]</div></div>
You aren't even Jamaican...how dare you tell Jamaica what to pick for the official language. You don't get to vote on this one. Whether you (and others) like it or not English is still Jamaica's official language. Patois is not a language....it is a dialect. There is a difference. </div></div>
not to step into queenb's business but I believe she is of jamaican descent and is eligible for jamaican citizenship through her descent. </div></div>
Like Sanya Richardson?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I did not have a hard time in class wid mi lesson dem. <span style="font-size: 14pt"><span style="font-weight: bold">I just had a hawd time wid ppl ovastanding me</span></span>.</div></div>
...and we know from our discussions (which I am not going to ask you to discuss on here) that this did present many challenges with peers. So for the life of me, when you had such a hard time, I don't understand why you would wish this fate on another generation. Frankly, you were born in Canada so I honestly don't know what your parents were thinking by not having you learn English before you went to school in Canada. It is equally short sighted to have Jamaican children learn only patois when we KNOW that because of economic conditions, many of them will be migrating.
I am not going to get into the patois language or dialect debate here but I will share articles with 4 POVs in another thread:
I had a hard time understanding and being understood when I moved from the UK to the US. So the point about patois being a source of misunderstanding may be true, but it happens to standard English speakers too.
Anyway, It's certainly not the best diplomacy to malign patois speakers especially if one is a foreign head of state or of Jamaican descent.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I had a hard time understanding and being understood when I moved from the UK to the US. So the point about patois being a source of misunderstanding may be true, but it happens to standard English speakers too.
Anyway, It's certainly not the best diplomacy to malign patois speakers especially if one is a foreign head of state or of Jamaican descent. </div></div>
Agree. His comments were out of line but people will form their impressions based on how we present ourselves. If most our our women are speaking clear English when interviewed by foreign media outlets and most of the men are speaking patois and coming across as draggy-draggy, what other conclusions can we expect people to draw?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Sanya Richardson is former jamaican
She bawn a yawd but run fi team USA ... but is awright she did help US win medals </div></div>
Glad you brought her up. Excellent example. She migrated to Jamaica around the same age as Ben Johnson...just a few years difference....look at how clearly she speaks in international interviews yet Ben Johnson is only recently presenting well after YEARS of strubble.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Sanya Richardson is former jamaican
She bawn a yawd but run fi team USA ... but is awright she did help US win medals </div></div>
Glad you brought her up. Excellent example. She migrated to Jamaica around the same age as Ben Johnson...just a few years difference....look at how clearly she speaks in international interviews yet Ben Johnson is only recently presenting well after YEARS of strubble. </div></div>
Yes we love her american cover accent
We have one a dem in my family too, a cousin who left Jamaica in her late 20s, lives in the USA and does not have a trace of a Jamaican accent. Claims she remembers absolutely nothing about her life before age 12 ....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Click to reveal.. <input type="button" class="form-button" value="Show me!" onclick="toggle_spoiler(this, 'Yikes, my eyes!', 'Show me!')" /></div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div style="display: none;">very humble beginnings 6 a dem and de maddah pack up inna one room in a place on my grandmother's property </div></div></div>
...when she did get scholarship and went to school away from the family and boarded. She did get plenty of help from relatives a foreign as the mother didn't a pot to pee in. Curious how she remembers me as she saw me at age 5 and then again at age 16. I guess her memory is selective. I still remember that she was SHOCKED when I had a summer job as a waitress when I was at college ...."mi would a nevah do dat she said at the time". She was horrified when we took my grandmother to a hotel for her birthday and I ordered lime squash.
Anyway, she can pull that garbage with strangers and gwan like she used to dine from high table but when she tries to pull it with us, we let her KNOW seh dat naw go wuk.
Every man got a right to decide his own destiny
And in this judgment there is no partiality
So arm in arm with arms, we fight this little struggle
Cuz that's the only way we can overcome a little trouble
Brother you're right, you're so right.
Natty trash it inna Zimbabwe. Mash it up inna Zimbabwe
Africans a liberate Zimbabwe.
Massive song from a Jamaican, Bob Marley, about Zimbabwe. How soon Mugabe forget.
MG I am for Sizzla to sing to counter the hegemony of African American and Kanadian cultural hegmony....
Still at Plity jnr or elder put it... something new always comes out of Africa....
Dont think Mugabe forgets he is just old another generation....where men had differetn roles than today.. and what was acceptable to be a man was different...the obession to fit the victorian type for a man as advocated by many does not rule...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> victorian type for a man as advocated by many does not rule...</div></div>
<span style="font-style: italic">"That mean seh if mi shoot u mi wilfully dweet. Mi no under no alcoholic influence, no chemical influence. Soft drinks and gunshot and mi gaan."</span> Ninja, the real badman, the original don gorgon. spellbinding performer. tho mi hear seh im a murderer
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.