New: One more time - should ganja be legalized?
Bogus againOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostWahalla...read man read. I am the one who posted the Jamaican studies that concluded that Cannacol was effective. My comment was that the results were obtained under very strict conditions that no one else has been able to replicated other than the team of 2 researchers. Once the results are replicated by other researchers and consistently obtained, only then can one conclude that it is effective.
de 2 researchers can do it again and again, but babylon waan teef dem, is a good ting dem paton it.
Why wait fi yt ppl to approve it b4 yuh ready fi accept it
The US Gov has a patent on Cannabis
Patent # 6630507
Why would the gov have a patent pan supm weh nah nuh use?
( 1 of 1 )
United States Patent 6,630,507 Hampson , et al. October 7, 2003 **Please see images for: ( Certificate of Correction ) **
Cannabinoids as antioxidants and neuroprotectants
Abstract Cannabinoids have been found to have antioxidant properties, unrelated to NMDA receptor antagonism. This new found property makes cannabinoids useful in the treatment and prophylaxis of wide variety of oxidation associated diseases, such as ischemic, age-related, inflammatory and autoimmune diseases. The cannabinoids are found to have particular application as neuroprotectants, for example in limiting neurological damage following ischemic insults, such as stroke and trauma, or in the treatment of neurodegenerative diseases, such as Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease and HIV dementia. Nonpsychoactive cannabinoids, such as cannabidoil, are particularly advantageous to use because they avoid toxicity that is encountered with psychoactive cannabinoids at high doses useful in the method of the present invention. A particular disclosed class of cannabinoids useful as neuroprotective antioxidants is formula (I) wherein the R group is independently selected from the group consisting of H, CH.sub.3, and COCH.sub.3. ##STR1##
Hampson; Aidan J. (Irvine, CA), Axelrod; Julius (Rockville, MD), Grimaldi; Maurizio (Bethesda, MD) The United States of America as represented by the Department of Health and Human Services (Washington, DC) 26767641 09/674,028 February 2, 2001 April 21, 1999 PCT/US99/08769 WO99/53917 October 28, 1999
Current U.S. Class: 514/454 Current International Class: A61K 31/35 (20060101); A61K 031/35 () Current CPC Class: A61K 31/35 (20130101) Field of Search: 514/454
It's legal in some states now where u binOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostWhy aren't they using it then or authorizing it for use?
The reason for a patent is for intent. I don't know why you continue this conversation as if you are willing to see another side when your side is a one way street.
Hey I asked a question.Originally posted by Emperah View PostIt's legal in some states now where u bin
The reason for a patent is for intent. I don't know why you continue this conversation as if you are willing to see another side when your side is a one way street.
I am strongly biased against ganja. I have not hidden that. You are like a dog with a bone in defending it. That is when the best debates and discussions take place. However, I am at least willing to look at data on both sides..you aren't. So, I could ask you the same question.
I will dig deeper into this patent business. If ganja were deemed to be fully safe it would have been legalized long time.
Wrong again!Originally posted by Tropicana View PostI will dig deeper into this patent business. If ganja were deemed to be fully safe it would have been legalized long time.
evidence has been put forth by many others bout alcohol and big pharma medicine, tylenol is a good one, which is not safe and kills many ppl every year, yet yuh cyaan bring any case weh ganja kill anybody.
You are on the side of man. i am on the side of The Creator
Maybe yuh should wrap up a draw fi clear yuh head
Definitely I smoking anything is harmful and I have made the case for harmful effects of marijuana. Some from the very researchers at UWI who you point to when backing up your case for the benefits of ganja. I remind you that being the objective party that I amOriginally posted by Emperah View PostWrong again!
evidence has been put forth by many others bout alcohol and big pharma medicine, tylenol is a good one, which is not safe and kills many ppl every year, yet yuh cyaan bring any case weh ganja kill anybody.
I was the one who posted that data.
HogwashOriginally posted by Emperah View PostYou are on the side of man.
No you are not...you don't even believe in God not sure what you even mean when you use the word Creator. You have yet to explain why people should not ingest poison ivy as ....the way you put it was...everyting have use. You also yet to clarify the benefits and the purose of the mosquito.Originally posted by Emperah View Posti am on the side of The Creator
The purpose of the earthworm is clear....
but not the mosquito.
Not a chance mistah!!Originally posted by Emperah View PostMaybe yuh should wrap up a draw fi clear yuh head
Note to self: When the video game programmer comes in tomorrow, remember to ask him to make the Emperah character less argumentative and more agreeable. He is disagreeing on every topic not just some topics as his original programming script specified.
From the patent document shared by Emperah:
Some of the research on these antagonists has focused on cannabinoids, a subset of which have been found to be NMDA receptor antagonists. U.S. Pat. No. 5,538,993 (3S,4S-delta-6-tetrahydrocannabinol-7-oic acids), U.S. Pat. No. 5,521,215 (sterospecific (+) THC enantiomers), and U.S. Pat. No. 5,284,867 (dimethylheptyl benzopyrans) have reported that these cannabinoids are effective NMDA receptor blockers. U.S. Pat. No. 5,434,295 discloses that the 1,1 dimethylheptyl (DMH) homolog of [3R,4R]-7-hydroxy-.DELTA..sup.6 THC (known as HU-210) is a superpotent cannabinoid receptor agonist with cannabinomimetic activity two orders of magnitude greater than the natural .DELTA..sup.9 THC. The HU-210 dimethylheptyl cannabinoid, has severe side effects, including fatigue, thirst, headache, and hypotension.THC (tetrahydrocannabinol) is another of the cannabinoids that has been shown to be neuroprotective in cell cultures, but this protection was believed to be mediated by interaction at the cannabinoid receptor, and so would be accompanied by undesired psychotropic side effects. ##STR3##
No signs of toxicity or serious side effects have been observed following chronic administration of cannabidiol to healthy volunteers (Cunha et al., Pharmacology 21:175-185, 1980), even in large acute doses of 700 mg/day (Consroe et al., Pharmacol. Biochem. Behav. 40:701-708, 1991) but cannabidiol is inactive at the NMDA receptor. Hence in spite of its potential use in treating glaucoma and seizures, cannabidiol has not been considered a neuroprotective agent that could be used to prevent glutamate induced damage in the central nervous system.
The cannabinoid, dronabinol, which is found in marijuana, is LIKELY SAFE when taken by mouth appropriately as a prescription medication. Dronabinol (Marinol) is an FDA-approved prescription product.
Marijuana is POSSIBLY UNSAFE when it is taken by mouth or smoked. It is classified as an illegal substance.
Use of marijuana can cause dry mouth, nausea, vomiting, dry or red eyes, heart andblood pressure problems, lung problems, impaired mental functioning, headache, dizziness, numbness, panic reactions, hallucinations, flashbacks, depression, and sexual problems.
Special Precautions & Warnings:
Pregnancy and breast-feeding: Marijuana is UNSAFE when taken by mouth or smoked during pregnancy. Marijuana passes through the placenta and can slow the growth of the fetus. Marijuana use during pregnancy is also associated with childhood leukemia. Using marijuana, either by mouth or by inhalation isLIKELY UNSAFE during breast-feeding. The dronabinol (THC) in marijuana passes into breast milk.
Heart disease: Marijuana might cause rapid heartbeat and short-term high blood pressure.
A weakened immune system: Cannabinoids in marijuana can weaken the immune system, which might make it more difficult for the body to fight infections.
Lung diseases: Long-term use of marijuana can make lung problems worse. Regular, long-term marijuana use has been associated with several cases of an unusual type of emphysema, a lung disease.
Seizure disorders: Marijuana might make seizure disorders worse in some people; in other people it might help to control seizures.
Surgery: Marijuana affects the central nervous system. It might slow the central nervous system too much when combined with anesthesia and other medications during and after surgery. Stop using marijuana at least 2 weeks before a scheduled surgery.
Weed is a social drug....
but it is also a medicinal drug.. proven over centuries confirmed by science...
Zadie Smith this week admit she used it, but now hates the effect.. the slowing of the brain processes that mild use has.. the mellow feeling...
It is non addicitive....non toxic..
the reason Y the US has the patents is that in the 80's alot of lab work demonstrating
http://www.webmd.com/ check every drug based on codiene.. which is banned in the UAE and if u import it and are caught at customs u can be imprisioned...
Cannabinoids from marijuana also appear to be similar to codeine for treatment of pain. However, extreme sleepiness and other central nervous system effects make cannabinoids undesirable as painkillers.
That is a crock.. because getting the body to sleep while it is pain is the ideal, as u used less drugs. the muscles relax....and the body mechanism self heals.. But then when Great Grand Dad used it as a pain relef....
Codeine or its many derivatives compare that to herb....
HYDROCODONE HD ORAL SIDE EFFECTS
Drowsiness, dizziness, headache, blurred vision, upset stomach, nausea,constipation, or dry mouth/nose/throat may occur. If any of these effects persist or worsen, notify your doctor or pharmacist promptly.
To relieve dry mouth, suck on (sugarless) hard candy or ice chips, chew (sugarless) gum, drink water, or use a saliva substitute. This medication can dry up and thicken mucus in your lungs, making it more difficult to breathe and clear your lungs. To help prevent this effect, drink plenty of fluids unless otherwise directed by your doctor.
If your doctor has directed you to use this medication, remember that he or she has judged that the benefit to you is greater than the risk of side effects. Many people using this medication do not have serious side effects.
Tell your doctor right away if you have any serious side effects, including: mental/mood changes (e.g., hallucinations), ringing in the ears, shaking (tremors), trouble urinating, weakness, easy bruising/bleeding, fast/slow/irregular heartbeat.
Get medical help right away if you have any very serious side effects, including:seizure.
This product may cause serious mental/mood changes and very serious (rarely fatal) breathing problems. Also, for products that contain codeine or dihydrocodeine, some people (ultra-rapid metabolizers) may be more sensitive to these serious side effects because their bodies change codeine or dihydrocodeine to a stronger narcotic drug (morphine or dihydromorphine) faster and more completely than others. Get medical help right away if you notice any of the following: slow/shallow breathing, unusual drowsiness/difficulty waking up, confusion.
A very serious allergic reaction to this drug is rare. However, get medical help right away if you notice any symptoms of a serious allergic reaction, including: rash,itching/swelling (especially of the face/tongue/throat), severe dizziness, trouble breathing.
This is not a complete list of possible side effects. If you notice other effects not listed above, contact your doctor or pharmacist.
In the US -
Call your doctor for medical advice about side effects. You may report side effects to FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088.
In Canada - Call your doctor for medical advice about side effects. You may report side effects to Health Canada at 1-866-234-2345.
XANAX ORAL SIDE EFFECTS
Drowsiness, dizziness, increased saliva production, or change in sex drive/ability may occur. If any of these effects persist or worsen, tell your doctor or pharmacist promptly.
To minimize dizziness and lightheadedness, get up slowly when rising from a seated or lying position.
Remember that your doctor has prescribed this medication because he or she has judged that the benefit to you is greater than the risk of side effects. Many people using this medication do not have serious side effects.
Tell your doctor right away if any of these unlikely but serious side effects occur: mental/mood changes (such as hallucinations, thoughts of suicide), slurred speech or difficulty talking, loss of coordination, trouble walking, memory problems.
Get medical help right away if these rare but very serious side effects occur: yellowingeyes or skin, seizures.
A very serious allergic reaction to this drug is rare. However, get medical help right away if you notice any symptoms of a serious allergic reaction, including: rash,itching/swelling (especially of the face/tongue/throat), severe dizziness, trouble breathing.
This is not a complete list of possible side effects. If you notice other effects not listed above, contact your doctor or pharmacist.
In the US -
Call your doctor for medical advice about side effects. You may report side effects to FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088.
In Canada - Call your doctor for medical advice about side effects. You may report side effects to Health Canada at 1-866-234-2345.
As for suppliments...
JAPANESE APRICOT
JAPANESE APRICOT SIDE EFFECTS & SAFETY
Pregnancy and breast-feeding: Not enough is known about the use of Japanese apricot during pregnancy and breast-feeding. Stay on the safe side and avoid use.
Surgery: Japanese apricot might slow blood clotting. There is some concern that it might increase the risk of bleeding during and after surgery. Stop using Japanese apricot at least 2 weeks before a scheduled surgery.
MELATONIN SIDE EFFECTS & SAFETY
Melatonin is LIKELY SAFE for most adults when taken by mouth short-term or applied to the skin. It can cause some side effects including headache, short-term feelings of depression, daytime sleepiness, dizziness, stomach cramps, and irritability. Do not drive or use machinery for four to five hours after taking melatonin.
Pregnancy and breast-feeding: Melatonin is POSSIBLY UNSAFE in pregnancy. Don’t use it. Melatonin might also interfere with ovulation, making it more difficult to become pregnant.
Not enough is known about the safety of using melatonin when breast-feeding. It’s best not to use it.
Children: Melatonin should not be used in most children. It is POSSIBLY UNSAFE. Because of its effects on other hormones, melatonin might interfere with development during adolescence.
High blood pressure: Melatonin can raise blood pressure in people who are taking certain medications to control blood pressure. Avoid using it.
Diabetes: Melatonin might increase blood sugar in people with diabetes. Monitor your blood sugar carefully, if you have diabetes and take melatonin.
Depression: Melatonin can make symptoms of depression worse.
Seizure disorders: Using melatonin might increase the risk of having a seizure.
Poo' ting.